Venue? Booked! Dress? The journey continues…

So Gaynes Park is officially ours for Sunday October 7th, 2018.  I had some concerns about a Sunday because of…well…the money.  Especially since I don’t give a damn what say it is, but my parents were incredibly awesome and were insisting that people would find it easier to come if it was on a Sunday.  And I totally get that, but damn weddings are expensive, and this is coming from someone who originally wanted a town hall thing.

But anyways, we put down the deposit and the venue is officially booked.  It really is beautiful.  Outdoors enough so people can relax and grab some air, but inside enough that no one is drenched if its chucking it down.  Next step is to put down the food deposit so Darcy and I can try it before deciding what our guests are going to eat.  In the USA, you get a choice of two or three options.  Usually a fish, meat or vegetarian option.  Apparently in the UK, people are just given what they are given unless they are a veggie.  I imagine we’ll go with some sort of chicken for the main dish, as I know some people don’t eat beef.  But oh how I would love a roast dinner!  My American friends would be in love with the Sunday tradition, and why not?  Roast potatoes, beef, veggies, and a Yorkshire pudding?  How it hasn’t become a thing in the USA I’ll never know.

So anyways, we’ve got one thing down.

 

Darcy and I spent some of the weekend working on the invitations (which look awesome if I do say so myself).  We’ll probably be printing those off and sending them within the next week.  But anyways, once again, we headed to a small wedding dress shop to try on some dresses.  Chilham Bridal was about a ten minute drive from Darcy’s home in Canterbury and was filled with dresses for less than 1,000 pounds.  Woohoo!  That is awesome because I don’t want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on a dress.  I found a dress I loved at another place, but it was too expensive.  I loved it, don’t get me wrong, but for 1,400?  I feel like there needs to be a REALLY good reason to spend that money on a dress.  So I decided to keep looking.

Chilham Bride sells sample dresses and pre-owned dresses, which basically means that you take the dress home right from the shop, as opposed to having it ordered for me and waiting weeks until it arrives.  This saves money, but it doesn’t let you personalize the dress at all.  If I see something I like but the train is too long or something, tough shit.  I did find one I really liked, but it wasn’t the one.  Ugh I kind of hate myself for saying that.  But oh well.  It was only 650 pounds which is so much more reasonable than 1,400.

I’ve decided to keep looking.  I’ve got tons of time and I have no doubt I’ll find something I love.  Until then, next Thursday we have a food tasting at Gaynes Park.  No doubt we’ll eat our weight in free food and mingle with other betrothed couples.  HA, maybe we’ll make up some awesome story about ourselves to tell everyone.

“Oh HELLOOOO Julie, my name is Corinna and I am a wealthy American heiress and governors daughter.  My FIANCEEEE is a Trafalgar, of the Trafalgar Square family ho ho ho ha ha haaaaaa.”

I am talking to a cake place about making our wedding cake as well.  It’s called Crumbs and Doilies.  Their flavors sound SO GOOD.  Trying cake flavors sound like the worst part of the wedding planning process to be honest.  But we must all make sacrifices I suppose…

Leave a comment