The Engagment

12009714_10153140961139142_6140567944300314530_nDarcy proposed to me in Heathrow Airport.  Yes, I will love Love, Actually even more now than I did before.  We were in the Queens Terminal, and I looked…LIKE SHIT.

I mean, I had just been on a 7 hour plane ride.  I was in an aisle seat which was great, but I’m not eating that plane food.  I may sound like a snob, but my Virgin Atlantic flight from London to Washington DC in December 2016 ended with me barfing the last three hours and then again in traffic on the way home.  I love you Richard Branson, your planes are dope, but check that chicken.

I was in line for customs for AN HOUR (I timed it to make sure my complaining later was accurate.)  I had been watching The Great British Bake-Off downloaded on my kindle in line.  I hadn’t renewed my Frequent Flyer Boarder Jump Thing, so I had to stand in line with the “All other passports” people.  Anyways, it was a long flight and a long customs line.  But finally, I grab my bag and head out of the terminal, praying my phone will stay on long enough to grab me an Uber.

But I didn’t need one as it turns out!  I saw Darcy – and I had a small feeling he would be there.  A very small one.  He told me he was playing Magic: The Gathering that morning so I was pretty sure he wouldn’t miss it.  But alas, he held a sign with my name on it with two roses drawn on.  I did an awkward half-jog to him and kissed him on the lips.  I didn’t linger or anything, I had no idea how my breath was, but I can imagine it wasn’t fantastic.

As usual, I started talking.  I don’t remember what I said or anything, but Darcy got down on one knee.  Again, by this point, I kinda knew what was coming, it was exciting nonetheless.  Surprisingly, no one stopped or awed or anything, people just kept minding their business and walked right by us.  Even the people waiting for their family and friends couldn’t give a fuck.  But I didn’t need them to, honestly.  It was exciting enough for me.  If it was the USA, I do know that people would have like given us a round of applause or something.

I said yes, obviously, or this blog wouldn’t be happening.

It all comes down to this: I’ve been to ONE wedding in my life, it was amazing and so much fun (shout out to the Vistica family!) and I have no intention of copying that wedding at all.  Of course I’ll have the ceremony and party and all that, but I know that however I plan this shindig, it will be completely unique to me and Darcy.  That’s slightly cheesy (and maybe a bit self centered?) but whether things go wrong or right, I’m excited for every step of this damn thing.  My parents are across the ocean, I have very little idea what an English Wedding is like, and I wouldn’t consider myself a very feminine person.

With all this in mind, friends and family, let’s plan a wedding!

Leave a comment