Mayhaps a Barn I have found…

 

I visited Gaynes Park a few weeks ago (actually, now that I look at a calendar it was exactly a week ago today) and I think this might be the place!  Though here is what not to do before visiting a venue.

  1. Lots of stuff – honestly I should have gone to Gaynes Park in the afternoon before doing anything else that day.  I had like eight different things to do last Thursday and visiting a venue was one of the things that took it out of me the most.  So I would suggest making that your ONE THING to do during the day, and then treating yourself to lunch after.
  2. Bring someone – I went alone to Gaynes Park, which is another no no.  Obviously, it’s a Thursday and not many of my friends had the day off, and my fiance was at Uni, so again, I was alone.  I didn’t have anyone to bounce my “ER MAH GOD WE COULD TOTALLY DO THIS HERE” ideas off of.  The woman showing me around was nice and all, but I’m not sure how serious she took me.

3. Walking to the venue from the tube station – when it says two miles from Epping tube to Gaynes Park, take it seriously.  They told me if would be a five minute drive, but for some reason to me that meant I could walk.  Poor idea.  I went under a bridge, walked through busy streets without sidewalks and journeyed up HUGE hills.  I was practically panting as I entered the park, not to mention a bit sweaty.

Anyways, those are my three DO NOT DO’S before visiting a venue.  But despite all those things and mistakes, I believe I found the venue of my…dreams?  I confess I can’t exactly say I’ve had a concrete dream of my wedding since I was a baby.  It’s been more of a foggy, constantly altering imagine.  The groom has often changed, at one point it was Adam Brody, Ian Somerhalder, Garrett Hedlund, etc.  But now that it’s for sure Darcy (unless Chris Hemsworth wants to object?  No?  Okay…) this seems like a pretty amazing place to get married.  To double check, I’m bringing Darcy and his parents along on Saturday (after an empty morning) to see everything.  Will this be it?  Mayhaps it will.

Other than that, I continue to dress shop, which has proven to be absolutely a whale of a time, even though the one I slightly love is 1,400 pounds.  But alas, that seems a bit steep.

The hunt continues!

Leave a comment